|
Post by theelf on Aug 11, 2015 11:41:18 GMT -5
Question, is possible to use different rates? other than 14khz for PCM 14khz is too much for some samples, and is just a waste of rom Thanks! Just wanted to say THANK YOU to Stef for this. I just sucessfuly compiled your test.bex. I tried a different .xgc files. I also tried converting a MIDI to VGM to XGC and it worked! Next I'll try and see how sound effects work. This is great!! UPDATE: Used nineko's midi2vgm Hi! Any advice how to open a midi file in midi2vgm? ?¿ I dont see any option, meu or anything ? jaja Thanks
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Aug 26, 2015 16:42:57 GMT -5
|
|
|
Post by theelf on Aug 26, 2015 17:50:42 GMT -5
Hi thanks! finally I solve the problem I use XP x64, and there is a incompatibility with some dll, thats why i push the button "convert" and nothing happen.. jaja Thanks for your help
|
|
Stef
Moldy Popcorn
Posts: 34
|
Post by Stef on Aug 28, 2015 18:57:45 GMT -5
Question, is possible to use different rates? other than 14khz for PCM 14khz is too much for some samples, and is just a waste of rom Thanks! Unfortunately no, that s a limitation of the XGM driver. Samples must be at 14Khz; i know it eats more rom space but i really wanted nice PM quality (8Khz is not enough for some instrument)
|
|
|
Post by landeel on Sept 16, 2015 13:12:42 GMT -5
Thank you so much for this. I have just one question: How can I make the music play again once it ends (loop)? Thank you!
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Sept 16, 2015 13:14:39 GMT -5
Thank you so much for this. I have just one question: How can I make the music play again once it ends (loop)? Thank you! You would do that in the tracker, ie, set a loop point.
|
|
|
Post by landeel on Sept 16, 2015 13:40:32 GMT -5
Hm, I'm converting midi tracks I wrote to vgm, and then to xgc. I presume I should add a loop point when it's in the vgm format, as midi doesn't have it. Can you recommend a tracker program for that? Thanks.
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Sept 16, 2015 13:41:43 GMT -5
Elusive has the definitive answer. For me, I have to half-ass it because: A. I don't know tracking software enough to create loops B. Sometimes the music files hard lock at some point on a real genesis
For these reasons when I start playing a song I set a songlength counter that counts down until I should start playing the song again:
if songlength > 0 then songlength = songlength - 1 else gosub play_ingamemusic
play_ingamemusic: songlength = 5500 asm lea XGMsong,a1 ; put address of song to play in a1 end asm xgm_startPlayMusic return
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Sept 16, 2015 13:53:18 GMT -5
If you use vgm music maker, right click on the pattern on top and select "loop"
|
|
|
Post by landeel on Sept 16, 2015 14:03:48 GMT -5
I have tried the vgm music maker, but it won't open or import vgm files, only vge. I'm using theloon's idea for now.
|
|
|
Post by Sg on Sept 27, 2015 11:54:44 GMT -5
hey stef, can we use the 6 pad buttons + start and the 4 directions with your xgm driver? because sound work very bad when i use it
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Sept 28, 2015 15:56:50 GMT -5
hey stef, can we use the 6 pad buttons + start and the 4 directions with your xgm driver? because sound work very bad when i use it For the VGM music track, with what you're probably wanting to do - nope. (I'm assuming you want to enable and disable the FM channels based on button press?). If you want to do it with the PCM functionality, you can, but you only have 4 samples available at a single time, so you'd be limited to 4 buttons. The 6 button controller is compatible as it's outside of the drivers scope, but you'd probably need to write a custom driver for what you're wanting to do. Again, assuming the above assumptions
|
|
|
Post by Sg on Sept 29, 2015 5:05:21 GMT -5
I want to make one instrument ( pcm/raw format) for each button based on button press
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Sept 29, 2015 5:40:00 GMT -5
I want to make one instrument ( pcm/raw format) for each button based on button press
You can do that, but only with 4 PCM samples as that's all the driver supports (any more and you'd lose quality), so you'd be able to use only 4 buttons.
|
|
|
Post by nathan999 on Oct 29, 2015 3:10:15 GMT -5
Hey, Stef. My buddy Leander has reached me about a bug he has found in your PCM player, in the function
declare asm sub xgm_startPlayMusic()
There's a
move.l NULLpcm,d2
in the first loop which should read
move.l #NULLpcm,d2
Otherwise there's problems - depending on where the function finally falls in the compiled binary, you get a continuous background noise as the pointer is not pointing where it should.
|
|