Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on May 12, 2015 16:24:00 GMT -5
Just wanted to say THANK YOU to Stef for this. I just sucessfuly compiled your test.bex. I tried a different .xgc files. I also tried converting a MIDI to VGM to XGC and it worked! Next I'll try and see how sound effects work. This is great!!
UPDATE: Used nineko's midi2vgm
|
|
|
Post by Sg on May 19, 2015 13:28:26 GMT -5
How to use xgmtool ? I tried with vgm file from vgm music maker and it dont work ? Must i place the file directly in xgmtool ?
Or can we convert vgm files directly in raw format?
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on May 19, 2015 18:49:54 GMT -5
Through the command prompt:
Convert VGM to XGM: xgmtool input.vgm output.xgm
Convert and compile VGM to binary/XGC: xgmtool input.vgm output.bin xgmtool input.vgm output.xgc
Convert XGM to VGM: xgmtool input.xgm output.vgm
Compile XGM to binary/XGC: xgmtool input.xgm output.bin xgmtool input.xgm output.xgc
Or make a .bat or .cmd file with your file names type in (copy and paste into a text editor, you can change the -p and -n depending if you're converting for NTSC or PAL):
@ECHO OFF REM xgmtool myTrack.vgm myTrack.xgm -p xgmtool myTrack.vgm myTrack.xgm -n xgmtool myTrack.xgm myTrack.xgc
ECHO Conversion Complete Pause
and save the file as MakeXGC.bat
|
|
|
Post by Sg on May 20, 2015 9:57:23 GMT -5
Thank you very much Elusive
but it say "the source file new5.vgm (or input.vgm when i renamed it) could not be opened
maybe because there is one sample in the music (i put the sample in FM6) ? (can we put little sample in the music, or are there restrictions for sample in wav format?)
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on May 20, 2015 11:10:40 GMT -5
You can't use samples in your vgm, and it only supports the first 5 fm tracks (and the psg tracks). I believe Stef's driver uses the 6th channel for the PCM / sound effects portion of the driver. Once you remove the PCM instruments and clear the 6th fm channel, you should have no issues converting
|
|
|
Post by tiberiyltim on May 20, 2015 14:53:16 GMT -5
I use TFM Music Maker v1.52 I have music.vgm
"...xgmtool.exe" input.vgm output.xgm
xgmtool don't work.
Error: VGM verssion 1.1 not supported!
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on May 20, 2015 15:53:24 GMT -5
Use VGM Music Maker by Shiru, not TFM.
|
|
|
Post by tiberiyltim on May 21, 2015 7:50:02 GMT -5
Use VGM Music Maker by Shiru, not TFM. OK. In VGM Music 1.1. -> Export -> VGM file for Genesis/MD... In xgmtool Convert VGM file "input.vgm output. xgm" - OK. But in a folder "test" qsor2. xgc file. Has replaced xgm on xgc. output.xgm on qsor2.xgc Compile BASIC sorce code. Open ROM in emulator. There is no music, silence. Sound FX - OK. What not so?
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on May 21, 2015 8:37:14 GMT -5
Use VGM Music Maker by Shiru, not TFM. OK. In VGM Music 1.1. -> Export -> VGM file for Genesis/MD... In xgmtool Convert VGM file "input.vgm output. xgm" - OK. But in a folder "test" qsor2. xgc file. Has replaced xgm on xgc. output.xgm on qsor2.xgc Compile BASIC sorce code. Open ROM in emulator. There is no music, silence. Sound FX - OK. What not so? This is the last time I'm helping since you're not reading these threads. Look 3 posts above you as I posted instructions on how to use xgmtool and how to convert vgm to XGM to xgc. Please read these threads thoroughly. I don't mind offering help, but you also need to do your diligence as well, especially when your questions have been answered a few posts before your question was asked...
|
|
|
Post by tiberiyltim on May 21, 2015 13:54:45 GMT -5
elusive, Be not angry. I do not know English language. Thanks you!
Very difficultly.
I have missed it?:
xgmtool myTrack.xgm myTrack.xgc
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on May 21, 2015 14:01:03 GMT -5
I'm not angry, but I grow tired of repeating "read the thread", especially when the answer is on the same page, 3 posts above your question. Yes, that is how you make the xgc file that the driver needs
|
|
|
Post by tiberiyltim on May 29, 2015 14:48:06 GMT -5
OK!
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Jun 29, 2015 6:23:18 GMT -5
How do you use the xgm_isPlayingPCM(channel_mask) function? I've tried doing: print xgm_isPlayingPCM(8) ' Channel 4
Both before and after a PCM sample is started and results in the same output. What I'd like to do is have a sound effect repeat on channel 4 (think of it as Mega Man's charge shot with the repeating sound effect until you let the button go). Usually the number return is in the 64,000 range. Any help would be appreciated
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Jun 29, 2015 12:32:00 GMT -5
This is a personal guess. It looks like some editing of the sample routine numbers need to take place in order to alter which channel a sample is played on. Somewhere in this line: "move.l #((1<<4)|1),d2 "
hatsound: asm lea HATpcm,a1 ; put address of sample in a1 move.l #(HATpcm_end-HATpcm),d1 ; put length of sample in d1 move.l #((1<<4)|1),d2 ; put priority and channel number in d2 end asm xgm_playPCM return
|
|
Stef
Moldy Popcorn
Posts: 34
|
Post by Stef on Jul 3, 2015 17:35:09 GMT -5
I just updated my driver and the wrapper for Basic, just check the dropbox folder in the first post Actually the problem was in the wrapper but i made some changes to improve a bit the wrapper (some methods now use parameters when possible). Also i updated the XGM driver to its last version, this one should improve the 68000 BUS contention issue so PCM playback quality should be preserved even during heavy DMA (as soon you keep them inside VBlank period only).
|
|